Why people lose money in equities continued


There is an earlier post on “why people lose money in equities” so I called this post “why….” continued that is all. Many readers, blog writers, editors, like this title. Also many people who lose money in equities think they are unique. Here is a clarification. In all my experience, I can easily tabulate the pattern because of which people lose money in equities. Here are some more reasons…

1. Overconfidence: I sold some high p/e stocks and bought BASF. I always believed that BASF was a good stock and at a p/e of 10 I found it inexpensive. Then BASF announced some buy back at a price of 275. This was pure, damn luck. Now if I think there is some pattern in my buying / selling I would be fooling myself. I worked on the logic that in a slower economy, higher p/e stocks would not do as well as lower p/e stocks.

2. Too much of activity: In my place of work, there are many kids who dabble in stocks. Last week I asked all of them to see how much is their profit vs. how much is their brokerage. Some of them have wisened up.

more will follow………….

Explore posts in the same categories: equity

Leave a Reply

